Google Drive Cloud Storage

Google Drive is a place where you can create, store and edit files which can be downloaded, e-mailed or used within the G Suite environment.

Anything you'd like: Documents, spreadsheets, presentations, pictures, videos, etc. However, everything you store in your Drive must be legally owned. For example, if you are found to be storing copyrighted music in your Drive, it will be removed. Your access to Drive can and will be revoked if you are found to be abusing it.

No. Google provides unlimited storage for Drive.

Files can be created in the current directory by right-clicking on any empty space and select the relevant option. You can create a blank file, or start with an available template. On Chromebooks that do not have a right-click function, hold ALT and click.

To upload a file, right-click on any empty space and select the Upload option. It is highly recommended that you enable the automatic file conversion for uploaded all files. On Chromebooks that do not have a right-click function, hold ALT and click.

Simply right-click on a file you want to share and select the Share option. Type in the email of the people you would like to share with, select their permission type from the drop-down-menu on the right and click Done. You can also use click the Get shareable link option to get a link that anybody can click on to access the file. On Chromebooks that do not have a right-click function, hold ALT and click.

Anybody with an @siddalmoor.org address. For safeguarding reasons you cannot share files with external accounts, nor can external accounts share files with you.

Files you upload that don't get converted will open as a preview first with an option to open it with the related program. It is highly recommended that you enable the automatic file conversion for uploaded all files.

In the upper-right-hand-corner there is a cog icon. Click this icon and select Settings.

From this new menu, tick the box next to the Convert uploaded files to Google Docs editor format setting.

Items you delete go into the Bin. You can access your Bin from the menu on the left-hand-side. If you right-click on an item in the Bin and select Restore, the file will be restored.

Team Drives are separate storage areas to your individual Drive but work very similarly. Team Drives can be accessed by any member who is added to them, but membership can be granted as read-only or with permission to modify files. For example, files in the Lesson Resources team drive cannot be edited by Pupils.

Pupils cannot create their own Team Drives. If a Team Drive is required, such as for an extracurricular group, a member of staff must create it and add the pupils to it.

Go Back